top of page
1st Chakra
2nd Chakra
3rd Chakra
4th Chakra
5th Chakra
6th Chakra
7th Chakra



Therapeutic massage cleanses the Chakras of the body. Chakra is a Sanskrit word meaning wheel, circle, or disc.  The fine network of energetic lines called nadis that run through our body meet at these 7 colourful centres making up a rainbow spectrum.  

The Chakras regulate all functions of our body, mind & spirit and healing massage can help to open and unblock Chakras that have closed and thus cause an 'energy bottleneck' in the body.

How can we become more aware of these mysterious power centers within us?

The answer may come with the natural state of being that massage and the ancient practice of yoga brings us, because once the mind reaches a point of stillness, we are able to realize these pulsating, light filled spinning wheels.

Because of the infinite nature of our inner being, it's said that each chakra contains lokas, or worlds, and are inhabited by devatas, or deities.

Blockages can occur in each of the chakras which can be based on past experiences and traumas. Each of the chakras is said to be easily blocked by certain behavioural characteristics.


Here is a diagram showing some of the causes of energy blockage in the body:

ch guilt.jpg

The endocrine system produces the hormones that stimulate or inhibit physiological processes. In this way a change in our consciousness affects our physical body and that is why healing massage s such an effecctive method of balancing the body.​​​


These interact with our body through the endocrine system (a seven gland system) which is one of the body’s main control mechanisms and healing touch can help the body to naturally produce what it needs to feel better and heal itself.

- ​Crown chakra (7th 'Sahasrara', color violet): pineal gland - spirituality and divine awareness, oneness with the creator.

- Third eye chakra (6th 'Ajna', color indigo): between eyebrows, pituitary gland, intuition, insight, connection with higher self.

Throat chakra (5th 'Vishuddhi', color blue): throat area, thyroid, communication and self-expression, speaking the truth.

Heart chakra (4th 'Anahata', color green): heart area, thymus, compassion, giving, empathy, love, and healing.

​Solar plexus chakra (3rd 'Manipura', color yellow): navel area, pancreas, self will, self esteem, courage, and personal power.

Sacral chakra (2nd 'Svadhisthana', color orange): genital area, ovaries, creativity, emotion and sensuality, lust, reproduction.

Root chakra (1st 'Muladhara', color red): base of the spine, gonads, safety and survival, sense of belonging, groundedness.


The 1st or base chakra, "muladhara", is also called the root chakra, and is located just above the pelvic floor. It is associated with the sense of smell, and represents earthly grounding. 

The color is red, the seed syllable is "Lam" and the affirmation is "I am".


The 2nd chakra, "svadhishthana", is located in the sacral area. It is associated with the color orange, and the sound "Vam."  It is connected with the sense of taste, and with reproduction and the affirmation is "I feel"


The 3rd chakra, "manipura", is located in the solar plexus/navel area. It is associated with the color yellow and the syllable "Ram." It is often translated as "city of jewels." This chakra is associated with fire and the power of transformation and the affirmation is "I do".


​The 4th chakra, "anahata", is located at the heart center. It is associated with the colour green, and its name references an "unstruck chord", or unbeaten. It is represented by a lotus flower with twelve petals. The seed sound is "Yam."  It is associated with air, touch, and the actions of the hands. The affirmation is "I love".


The 5th chakra, "vishuddha", is located in the throat. It is associated with the color pale blue or turquoise.  Vishuddha means "very pure."  It is associated with the element "ether," and is related to your ability to speak truth, express ideas clearly, and be attuned to inner and outer vibrations.  It is associated with the syllable "Ham" and the affirmation is "I speak".


The 6th chakra, "ajna", is located at the third eye. It is associated with the colour violet or indigo, and with higher knowledge, the subtle aspects of sight, and with intuition. It is associated with the syllable "om" and the affirmation "I see".


The 7th chakra, "sahasrara", floats above the crown of the head. Often referred to as a thousand-petaled lotus, it is said to be the most subtle in the chakra system, and is related to pure consciousness, our connection to Divinity. It is associated with the colour Indigo and complete silence. The affirmation is "I know".


With daily meditation on each chakra we can identify difficult areas on which we may then focus for personal development, slowly working our way towards being the best version of ourself.

And remember, no-one is perfect and this life is full of the flaws and frailties that make us truly human, so don't be hard on yourself, instead be loving and forgiving and simply strive to become a better 'you' with each passing day.

We are each a 'work-in-progress' and  throughout our lifetimes it is much better to learn to love the person you are slowly  becoming and look forward to each and savor every moment of this amazing journey.

ch i am.jpg

As you awaken your Kundalini, you begin to liberate more energy not only for your spiritual life but for your career, your creativity, and your service in the world.

ch rules.png
torus heart.jpg
The 7 Chakras
The Blockages
bottom of page